This subject guide presents resources in various formats for students and faculty of the Practical Nursing program.
Last Updated: Apr 12, 2013
Find Journal Articles Here:
- Search Summon. Summon searches for articles, books, e-books, videos and other collections from the library with an all-in-one search.
- Search the recommended databases below. Databases collect of all types of articles and reports from journals & other sources.
- Search specific e-journals the library subscribes to. See below for some recommendations.
- Browse our shelves for print journals.
See the Academic Research Guide for tips on using keyword searches.
If you need any assistance, don't hesitate to contact us: visit the library, email the reference desk of your campus, or use the Ask a Librarian box.
This database focuses on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health and wellness.
- Anatomy TV - Functional Anatomy
Anatomy.tv is an interactive database that provides animations, visual representations, and descriptions for all parts of the anatomy.
- CINAHL with Full Text
CINAHL provides indexing and full-text for over 610 journals relevant to nursing and allied health professionals.
- e-CPS (Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties)
CPhA's online Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties provides health care professionals with web access to the most current Canadian drug information. E-CPS is an advanced yet user-friendly resource that is updated regulary with links to Health Canada advisories, printable information for patients, searchable product images and more.
- Health & Wellness Resource Center (with Alternative Health Module)
Use this database to find full-text medical journals, magazines, newspapers, reference works, multimedia and more. Included are links to various health assessment sites and US government publications.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
550 scholarly full-text medical journals related to nursing and allied health are available in this database. Included are generic drug patient education sheets.
From the National Library of Medicine, this database provides authoritative information from the life sciences and biology. Search for linked, full-text articles from over 4,800 current biomedical journals.
- Primal Online Learning
Primal Online Learning provides 19 modules with clear 3D images and interactive models, narrated animations and illustrations, dissection slides you can label, clinical case studies, the impact of aging on each body systems, pronunciation guide, quizzes and much more.
American Journal of Nursing
Home Healthcare Nurse
Journal of Health Communication
Journal of Nursing Education
Registered Practical Nursing Journal